Access FREE Video Lessons to Strengthen Your Back

A Life Journey of Colours Anahata Chakra – Fourth Chakra


The Most Inspiring Rumi Quotes About Love and Loving

The heart chakra (4th Chakra).  It is centre of love for the self and other.  It is associated with unconditional love, compassion, and joy. Each chakra has is associated with sound and colour.  It is the connecting centre between the lower three chakras and upper three chakras).

The Fourth chakra:

  • Name: Anahata, Hritapankaja
  • Meaning: Unstruck, Heart Lotus,
  • Location: The Heart region of the vertebral column, the cardiac plexus
  • Colour: colourless, gray or smokey green
  • Element: air
  • Body Associations: Hands, Vayu (Prana) the breath – rich in life giving negative ions dwelling in the chest region.
  • Predominant sense & Organ: Touch, skin
  • Ruling Planet: Venus
  • Mental: Balanced, living in the moment with happiness
  • Behavioural pattern: Rythmic, graceful, wise, respectul
  • Sound: Kang, Khang, Gang, Ghang, Yong, Cang, Chang,Jang,
  • Plane: The plane of balance (Maha Loka)

The upper chakra and lower chakra connection embodies the grounding and stabilising nature of lower chakras and the awareness and feelings of the upper chakras.

‘When we do not connect with our emotions through feeling sensitivity in our body, i.e. pay attention to the feeling of polarity of our Soul, our emotions go underground and express from subconscious programming.’

How we feel emotions is directly related to open or closed heart chakra. The imbalance is evident in how we relate to family, friends, and world around us.  A balanced and open chakra is associated with unconditional love, compassion, and joy. In the balanced state the, you are open to all experiences of life, relationships and challenges become easy to overcome, you see possibility and beauty all around you.

In an unbalanced chakra you live in fear, anxiety, and are unable to move on without feeling negative about every situation, there is lack of trust, feel lonely, hold grudges towards people you love, feel jealous, defensive and be afraid of intimacy, difficult to trust, and you put yourself in the role of rescuer to victim.

Below is a kriya/meditation to balance the heart:



Posture: Sit on your heels with a straight spine. The upper arms are parallel to the ground, on the same level as the shoulders. The elbows are bent and the fingertips are nearly touching each other at the centre. of the chest near the heart centre. The hands are flat with the palms. facing downward.

Mantra: The meditation is done to the sound of Humee Hum, Brahm

Hum by Nirinjan Kaur and Guru Prem Singh. The meditation is silent, you do not chant aloud.

Focus: The eyes are focused at the tip of the nose.

Meditation: From the starting position, the hands, and forearms move out to the sides, palms facing down. Pull the navel point in strongly and lift the solar plexus and diaphragm slightly in a focused motion. As the arms move back in, the navel is released. The navel is pulled in as the arms again move back out to the sides. Continue this movement, using the rhythm of the music to set the pace.

Time: 11 minutes.

To Finish: Inhale and hold the breath 15 seconds and then release.

Repeat these two more times and relax.

Mantra for Heart Chakra:

I hope you enjoyed the blog, if you would like to transform your journey with Kundalini Yoga - Subscribe:[email protected]


50% Complete

Two Step

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.